Watch Yo La Tengo Cover The Cure’s ‘Friday I’m In Love’

0

Covers Album Stuff Like That There  Out August 28th Via Matador Records.

One classic indie rock band covering another? Yes, please! Legendary New Jersey experimental indie rockers Yo La Tengo have covered ‘Friday, I’m In Love’, the classic track by legendary gothic post-punks The Cure. The track is set to feature on Stuff Like That There, Yo La Tengo’s follow up to their seminal covers album Fakebook. Theset will be released on August 28th so keep your old meaty life viewers peeled for that.

The track is not exactly a straight up cover. Yo La Tengo have taken the euphoric romance of the original and distilled that into a lilting acoustic paean to love. Check out the apocalyptic video for ‘Friday I’m In Love’ above. On the record they also cover ‘Automatic Doom’ by Special Pillow, and have remade ‘Deeper Into Movies’ from 1997 album I Can Hear The Heart Beating As One. Listen to them below. Below that there’s the track listing for Stuff Like That There and more tour dates than you can shake a big stick at.

Stuff Like That There:

01 My Heart’s Not in It (Darlene McCrea)
02 Rickety
03 I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry (Hank Williams)
04 All Your Secrets (remake of track from Popular Songs)
05 The Ballad of Red Buckets (remake of track from Electr-o-pura)
06 Friday I’m in Love (The Cure)
07 Before We Stopped to Think  (Great Plains)
08 Butchie’s Tune (The Lovin’ Spoonful)
09 Automatic Doom (Special Pillow)
10 Awhileaway
11 I Can Feel the Ice Melting (The Parliaments)
12 Naples (Antietam)
13 Deeper Into Movies (remake of track from I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One)
14 Somebody’s in Love (The Cosmic Rays with Le Sun Ra and Arkestra)

Yo La Tengo’s Global Destruction Tour:
Friday, September 4 – Barcelona, Spain – Tibidabo Festival
Saturday, September 5 – San Sebastian, Spain – Kutxa Kultur Festibla
Wednesday, September 23 – Troy, NY – Troy Savings Bank Music Hall*
Thursday, September 24 – Glenside, PA – Keswick Theatre*
Friday, September 25 – Washington, DC – Lincoln Theatre*
Saturday, September 26 – Durham, NC – The Carolina Theatre of Durham*
Sunday, September 27 – Atlanta, GA – Variety Playhouse*
Tuesday, September 29 – Millvale, PA – Mr. Smalls Theatre*
Wednesday, September 30 – Toronto, ON – Queen Elizabeth*
Friday, October 2 – Montreal, QC – Corona Theatre*
Saturday, October 3 – Boston, MA – The Wilbur Theatre*
Saturday, October 10 – Brooklyn, NY – King’s Theatre* w/ Nick Lowe
Thursday, October 15 – Dublin, Ireland – National Concert Hall*
Friday, October 16 – Glasgow, Scotland – The Garage*
Sunday, October 18 – Bristol, UK – Colston Hall*
Monday, October 19 – Coventry, UK – Warwick Arts Center*
Tuesday, October 20 – London, UK – O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire*

Friday, October 23 – Paris, France – La Cigale*
Saturday, October 24 – Holland, Amsterdam – Paradiso*
Sunday, October 25 – Leuven, Belgium – Het Depot*
Tuesday, October 27 – Berlin, Germany – Heimathafen*
Wednesday, October 28 – Koln, Germany – Kulturkirche*
Friday, October 30 – Bologna, Italy – Teatro Antoniano*
Saturday, October 31 – Rome, Italy – Auditorium Parco della Musica*
Thursday, November 5 – Chicago, IL – The Vic Theatre*
Friday, November 6 – Madison, WI – Barrymore Theatre*
Saturday, November 7 – Minneapolis, MN – Pantages Theatre*
Monday, November 9 – Boulder, CO – Boulder Theater*
Thursday, November 12 – San Diego, CA – San Diego Music Thing*
Friday, November 13 – Los Angeles, CA – The Theatre at Ace Hotel*
Saturday, November 14 – San Francisco, CA – The Masonic*
Tuesday, November 17 – Eugene, OR – WOW Hall*
Wednesday, November 18 – Portland, OR – Revolution Hall*
Friday, November 20 – Seattle – Neptune Theatre*
Saturday, November 21 – Vancouver, BC – Vogue Theatre*

*denotes acoustic set-up
Follow Yo La Tengo on Facebook.

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.