5 Songs We Loved This Week | 14th April 2017

5 songs we loved this week

This is simple. We love these songs. You should listen and tell us what you think of them.

Let me also point out that this is not necessarily focused on new songs. Just what we’ve been listening to and loving this week.

1. Orchards – ‘Chemystery’

We were lucky enough to grab these math pop Brightonites supporting the mighty PWR BTTM in Dublin during the week. Their mixture of enthusiasm, musical dexterity, and melodic nuance pretty much grabbed us immediately and made us fall quicker than Cristiano Ronaldo after a soft tackle. This is old (2015) but the band have some new music on the horizon that promises to be savage.

2. Villagers & Nico Muhly – ‘Fortunate Child’

This one is a track of unusually gentle tenderness. A definite late night number focused on reflection, the song is tinged with melancholia, regret, and reflection. Nico Muhly adds a textured and nuanced depth to the directness of Conor O’Brien to create something that is both abstract and direct. Beautiful.

3. Percolator – ‘Crab Supernova’

Somehow, we did not hear about Dublin outfit Percolator until a buddy of ours dropped their name while we were checking out a gig last week. In under a week, I have found their meld of kraut rock/shoegaze/noise rock to be near the coolest thing I’ve heard all year. Loving hearing a band take bits of Sonic Youth, My Bloody Valentine, and avant garde noise to create something hypnotic and new.

Order Sestra via Penske Recordings.

4. Good Good Blood – ‘Fallen Leaves’

Earlier this week, a little wonderful fairy sent us the entire upcoming album from alt folk artist Good Good Blood. It’s stunning. It trades in earnest, heartfelt, and simple acoustic numbers tinged with field recordings that pull the songs down to the ground and give them a gravitas that is just beautiful.

Pre-order Songs From Where I Live via Bandcamp.

5. Ratboys – ‘Control’

We were delighted to hear there’d be new music coming from Chicago alt rock duo Ratboys. This one has a very nice country tinged guitar leads and delightful brass section in places. It’s the first single from their upcoming second album GN, which will be out via the ever awesome Topshelf Records on June 30.

Order GN via Topshelf Records.

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.