Alt Rock: Dinosaur Jr Share ‘I Ran Away’, Announce New Album

dinosaur jr
Photo credit: Cara Totman.

Dinosaur Jr.’s new album Sweep It Into Space is due for release via Jagjaguwar on April 23rd.

Legendary alt-rock trio Dinosaur Jr. have shared the first track from their upcoming twelfth album Sweep It Into Space. Titled ‘I Ran Away’, the track is typically fuzzy and melodic offering that also sports Kurt Vile on the twelve-string guitar. Kurt Vile also co-produced the album which was recorded, as usual, at Amherst’s Biquiteen in August 2019 following the group’s West Coast/South East tour. Check out ‘I Ran Away’ below.

As recording with Kurt Vile got interrupted, J Mascis, “ended up just mimicking a few things he’d done. I was listening to a lot of Thin Lizzy, so I was trying to get some of that duelling twin-lead sound. But the recording session was pretty well finished by the time things really hit the fan. When the lockdown happened in March, that meant I was on my own. But it was cool.”

Sweep It Into Space tracklisting.

1. I Ain’t
2. I Met the Stones
3. To Be Waiting
4. I Ran Away
5. Garden
6. Hide Another Round
7. And Me
8. I Expect It Always
9. Take It Back
10. N Say
11. Walking To You
12. You Wonder

Sweep It Into Space artwork.

dinosaur jr

Pre-order Sweep It Into Space.

Follow Dinosaur Jr. on Facebook.

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.