Alt Rock/Sludge Metal: Emma Ruth Rundle & Thou Share ‘The Valley’

Thou & Emma Ruth Rundle’s collaborative album May Our Chambers Be Full is out on October 30th via Sacred Bones.

Sludge metal stalwarts Thou and alternative singer/songwriter Emma Ruth Rundle have shared a slow burning ballad from their upcoming collaborative album May Our Chambers Be Full. The track stands in contrast to the sonic onslaught of the first single ‘Ancestral Recall’, and suggests that the album will run the gamut of human emotion. It is not an exaggeration to suggest this one is shaping up to be an album of the year contender. Check out the song above via YouTube or below via Bandcamp.

“Fragile yet powerful; sad but fearless. It’s the feeling you get when you listen to a lot of Emma’s music,” Thou guitarist Andy Gibbs says of the song. Emma Ruth Rundle adds, “The Valley is a place. A landscape that lacks vistas and perspectives. An analogy for unrelenting, crushing mental illness, physical pain, addiction and the isolation that can arise as a result of these diseases. There is a choice one must make once initiated into The Valley’s fold; to press on living where no hope will ever show itself or to dissolve into its bleak greyness. On the journey, remains of those who came before us and succumbed are visible. Instead of hope, we turn to anger and defiance for fuel and with those we fortify ourselves. The ending doesn’t resolve, but successful escape from The Valley is unlikely.”

May Our Chamber Be Full artwork:

Album Artwork | Photo By Craig Mulcahy

May Our Chambers Be Full track listing:

1 – Killing Floor
2 – Monolith
3 – Out of Existence
4 – Ancestral Recall
5 – Magickal Cost
6 – Into Being
7 – The Valley

Find Thou on Instagram and Bandcamp.

Find Emma Ruth Rundle on FacebookInstagram and Twitter.

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.