Alternative Rock: Thurston Moore Shares ‘Cantaloupe’

thurston moore
CREDIT: Vera Marmelo

Thurston Moore’s new album By The Fire is out on 25 September via Moore’s Daydream Library Series label.

Following the release of ‘Hashish’ late last month, former Sonic Youth vocalist/guitarist Thurston Moore has shared another track from his upcoming solo album By The Fire. Titled ‘Cantaloupe’, the track is a surprisingly straight forward alternative rock track for the experimental rock pioneer. It even has a pretty upfront psychedelic section replete with an old fashioned melodic guitar solo. Go figure.

By The Fire is Moore’s latest project with the Thurston Moore Group, which features former Sonic Youth drummer Steve Shelley, My Bloody Valentine bassist Deb Googe, and guitarist James Sedwards.

Check it out below.

By The Fire tracklisting:

1. Hashish (5:54)
2. Cantaloupe (4:44)
3. Breath (10:54)
4. Siren (12:20)
5. Calligraphy (5:20)
6. Locomotives (16:50)
7. Dreamers Work (4:53)
8. They Believe In Love [When They Look At You] (7:49)
9. Venus (14:20) Instrumental

By The Fire art work:

thurston moore

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.