Arca – Thievery – Play It Again, Sam

Arca - Thievery

Venezuela. A tense place I imagine. Since February this year demonstrations over inflation, the scarcity of goods, and high levels of criminal violence have led to at least 40 deaths. The country has one of the highest homicide rates in South America and according to the 2013 Global Misery Index Scores it ranks as the country with the most miserable people. It is from this place of revolution and fear the producer Arca has emerged.

His music is as tense as his homeland. “Thievery”, the first release from his debut album Xen, is two and half minutes of jittery synth atop terse claustrophobic beats. For the duration, it is constantly on the verge of either exploding into melodic cacophony or disintegrating into uncontrollable chaos.

Sounding like a disturbed meld of Massive Attack and a Trent Reznor soundtrack, the tune is thick and slimy like an oil spill that slowly envelops the listener. It reminds me of an episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation in which Tasha Yar is killed by a malevolent slick of black tar.

The FKA Twigs and Kanye West collaborator has signed to Mute Records for the release of his debut album Xen, which is out on November 4th in the US and November 3rd everywhere else.

Check out the tracklisting below:

01 Now You Know
02 Held Apart
03 Xen
04 Sad Bitch
05 Sisters
06 Slit Thru
07 Failed
08 Family Violence
09 Thievery
10 Lonely Thugg
11 Fish
12 Wound
13 Bullet Chained
14 Tongue
15 Promise

Catch him on a short tour of the US this month:

09-18 Portland, OR – Fashion Tech
09-20 Vancouver, British Columbia – Dome at Science World
09-23 San Francisco, CA – Gray Area Art & Technology Theater
09-24 Seattle, WA – EMP Sky Church
09-25 Los Angeles, CA – First Unitarian Church

Facebook // Website // Twitter