Baked Share ‘Midnight Junkie’, Announce New Album


Sophomore Album Farnham Due Out February 24th via Exploding In Sound Records.

You don’t even have to check. If it is on Exploding in Sound Records it is bound to be good. Such is the case with ‘Might Junkie’ by Brooklyn quintet Baked. It’s a track of nearly four minutes of slacker infused shoegaze that sports molasses thick fuzzed up riffs that lay the foundation for a vocal performance so laid back that it may as well be horizontal. Given this pretty melodic and relaxed atmosphere, it makes the arrival of a peak climbing, J Mascis/Neil Young tinged guitar solo all the more surprising. That’s not to say it isn’t welcome. It is. And it’s a beauty.

The track is the first single to be released from the band’s second album Farnham. By all accounts, it’s an eclectic bugger that touches on wall of sound guitars, R&B influenced pop, post-punk, and dusty country rock. Sounds like a trip.

“The song is a tribute to a close friend and band mate from my late teens, early twenties, “says RJ Gordon (vocals/guitar). “He had gotten to a point in his life where he needed to separate himself from everything and everyone he knew just to get back to a point of personal homeostasis. I think at the time we both longed for the ‘good ol days’ and feeling naturally at peace with the way things are.”

February 24th
Exploding In Sound Records

1. A.A.
2. Wolf
3. Amy Rots
4. Stay
5. Stuck At Iron Mountain
6. Them
7. Midnight Junkie
8. Danelectroladyland
9. “You Know San Francisco, Don’t You?”
10. I Win
11. Two-Thousandths
12. Tolex

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive the latest alternative music news, features, and reviews.

BONUS - Receive free 21 track MP3 compilation when you confirm your subscription.

Find Baked on Facebook.

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.