Blur Share ‘Go Out’, Announce New Album, Hyde Park Gig

In a surprise move, britpop legends Blur have announced The Magic Whip, their first album for 12 years, due for release on April 27th. They have also streamed the first single from the record, ‘Go Out’. They will also play at Hyde Park on June 20th as part of the British Summer Time Festival. Will have to get to that, methinks!

It’s quite the surprise move as Damon Albarn had recently announced that Gorillaz, his project with Jamie Hewlett, were working on new material for a 2016 release, and downplayed the chances of a new Blur record in July 2014 after sessions ended abruptly in Hong Kong, saying, “There’s some great tunes on there, but it may just be one of those records that never comes out.”

Despite this, when the band revisited recordings they sounded better than expected, according to a press conference the band held earlier today. Coxon brought the recordings to producer Stephen Street (The Smiths, Morrissey), who convinced the band to finish the album. Albarn and Coxon got together over Christmas in Hong Kong so Albarn could complete the lyrics.

Album artwork:

Blur Share 'Go Out', Announce New Album

Magic Whip Tracklist:
01. Lonesome Street
02. New World Towers
03. Go Out
04. Ice Cream Man
05. Thought I Was A Spaceman
06. I Broadcast
07. My Terracotta Heart
08. There Are Too Many Of Us
09. Ghost Ship
10. Pyongyang
11. Ong Ong
12. Mirrorball

Don’t forget to follow Overblown on Facebook, and Twitter.