Dream-pop: JAWS release video for new track ‘Driving At Night’, announce new album

JAWS’ third album The Ceiling is set for release on April 5th 2019.

Birmingham based dream pop trio JAWS have shared the first track from their upcoming third album The Ceiling. Titled ‘Driving At Night’, it sees the outfit continue to craft their highly melodic and dreamy tunes. In preparation, we’ve got their first album Be Slowly on repeat. A bloody gem that is. Stream the new track below.

“Lyrically “The Ceiling” is generally about feeling a bit lost, I think as you grow up everything feels like its moving along a lot quicker; friends, relationships, life can all seem to move at 100 mph. Sometimes we forget that its OK to stand still for a bit sometimes and actually breathe. A lot of these songs are about dealing with that. Musically I think we’ve surprised even ourselves with it, we’ve gone down paths we haven’t taken before and ended up with something we’re really very excited about.”

“Driving at Night follows the general theme of the record. I wrote it while thinking a lot about my hometown of Birmingham and I think it sets the tone perfectly for the rest of the record.”

JAWS’ live dates:

23/04 – ​Glasgow – King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut
25/04 – London – The Electric Ballroom
26/04 – ​Manchester – O2 Ritz
27/04 – Birmingham – O2 Institute

The Ceiling album artwork:


The Ceiling track-listing:

1. Driving At Night
2. Feel
3. Do You Remember?
4. Fear
5. End Of The World
6. Patience
7. Looking / Passing
8. The Ceiling
9. Please Be Kind
10. January

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.