Emo/indie: American Football announce new album, share new track

American Football

The outfit’s third LP will feature members of Slowdive, Paramore, and Land of Talk

Illinois based pioneers of emo/indie American Football returned from a sixteen-year hiatus in 2016 with their sophomore album. After the success and rapturous reception that record received, they are set to release their next album in the new year.

“We put a lot of time and a lot of energy into it,” the group’s Mike Kinsella notes in a press statement about the new album, simply titled American Football (LP3). “We were all thoughtful about what we wanted to put out there. Last time, it was figuring out how to use all of our different arms. This time, we were like – Ok we have these arms, let’s use them.”

Clocking in at 8 tracks, the album sees some extended song durations and surprise guests in the form of Rachel Goswell of Slowdive, who appears on a song titled “I Can’t Feel You”, Paramore frontwoman Hayley Williams (“Uncomfortably Numb”) and Elizabeth Powell of Land of Talk.

The record will be released on March 22nd via Polyvinyl. You can listen to the opening track on the album, ‘Silhouettes’, below.

American Football (LP3) Artwork:

American Football (LP3) Tracklist:
01. Silhouettes
02. Every Wave To Ever Rise (feat. Elizabeth Powell)
03. Uncomfortably Numb (feat. Hayley Williams)
04. Heir Apparent
05. Doom In Full Bloom
06. I Can’t Feel You (feat. Rachel Goswell)
07. Mine To Miss
08. Life Support

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.