Goth-folk: Jaye Jayle Shares ‘Guntime’

jaye jayle

New album Prisyn out August 7th via Sargent House.

Most people will know Evan Patterson from his stellar work with noise-rock trio Young Widows. However, with his project Jaye Jayle, he has taken a bit of a sidestep to the left. The upcoming offering from the group is called Prisyn and sees them work with Ben Chisolm (a long time collaborator with Chelsea Wolfe). ‘Guntime’ is the lead track from the record. Prisyn is out on August 7th via Sargent House.

“These songs have a totally different energy, and that’s the exciting thing about making art,” Patterson commented. “Things have to progress. I don’t want to draw the same picture for the rest of my life. Maybe that keeps you from being a master at it, but being a master isn’t the key to art. It’s having that constant expression, the constant outlet, the constant change.”

Prisyn tracklisting:

1.  A Cold Wind
2.  Don’t Blame the Rain
3.  Synthetic Prison
4.  The River Spress
5.  Making Friends
6.  Guntime
7.  Blueberries
8.  I Need You
9.  Last Drive
10.  From Louisville

Prisyn artwork:

jaye jayle

Pre-order Prisyn via Sargent House.

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.