Grouper’s Liz Harris Announces Debut Album From Dream-Pop Band Helen, Shares ‘Motorcycle’

liz harris grouper helen

Debut Album The Original Faces  Is Out September 4th Via Kranky.

“The best-laid schemes o’ mice an’ men / Gang aft agley,” goes the Robert Burns poem on which John Steinbeck based his classic novella Of Mice and Men. The same can be said of Grouper offshoot Helen. Originally conceived as a thrash metal project, the Portland, Orgean based quartet have ended up closer to the fuzz/dream-pop with the first track (‘Motorcycle’) from their debut album The Original Faces. Not that anyone at Overblown is complaining.

Consisting of Liz Harris (Grouper), Jed Bindeman (Eternal Tapestry), Scott Simmons, and Helen, the group craft a raucous and yet soothing din on ‘Motorcycle’. As one would expect from a project involved Liz Harris, the track is somewhat unconventional, especially when compared to other bands of a similar ilk. Keep an eye out for their debut album The Original Faces, which is out on September 4th via Kranky.

The Original Faces artwork:

liz harris grouper helen

The Original Faces track-listing:

01 Ryder
02 Motorcycle
03 Covered in Shade
04 Felt This Way
05 Pass Me By
06 Right Outcome
07 Allison
08 Dying All the Time
09 Grace
10 City Breathing
11 Violet
12 The Original Faces

Don’t forget to follow Overblown on Facebook, and Twitter.