Jason Herring & The Mystery Plan – ‘Electric Love’ | Overblown Video Premiere

Jason Herring & The Mystery Plan
Photo by Evan Thomas.

New album ‘Queensland Ballroom’ on September 8 via Ten Millimeter Omega Recordings.

Hailing from Charlotte, North Carolina, Jason Herring & The Mystery Plan craft a chilled, dreamy, and hypnotic sound on new single ‘Electric Love’. Comprised of Jason Herring, Otis Hughes, Jeff Chester, Amy Herring, Paul Jensen, Patty McLaughlin and utilising a luxurious pace, swirling synths, and the Beth Gibbons-esque vocals of Amy Herring, the track sways and swoons its way through its four minute running time.

It’s produced by John Fryer who is not only responsible for producing nearly all of the early and seminal 4AD records (Cocteau Twins, Lush, Kristin Hersh, Dead Can Dance), he has also worked extensively with pioneers like Nine Inch Nails, Love and Rockets, HIM, and Depeche Mode

“Our previous releases are a little melancholy, so Amy and I decided we should make this record a little more fun. A record outside of our norm,” says Jason Herring. “Electric Love was inspired by Amy and I feeling a bit randy in the studio – that’s fun, yeah?”

The video, directed by Jon Ecklund and Fiona Jones and produced by Dream Out Loud Media, seems to explore how technology has come to domineer our lives. However, it also shows how this technology can draw people together too. The dichotomy.

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.