Jóhann Jóhannsson Announces Score For Stephen Hawking Biopic

Having been fans of the Icelandic composer’s work, we can imagine that it is an integral part of the film, titled The Theory of Everything, which will see release in the UK on the 1st January 2015. The film, which apparently focusing on the romance between Stephen and Jane Hawking, stars Eddie Redmayne (epic name) and Felicity Jones. James Marsh directs. Watch the trailer above.

“I’m a big fan of James as director – ever since I saw Man on Wire (James Marsh directed documentary) years ago – and I have also always been fascinated by Stephen Hawking, both as a writer and theorist as well as a human being. I approached the music very much on emotional terms,” Jóhannsson states, “Most of the score is derived from very simple elements that are announced in the first frames of the film – a four-note piano ostinato which then slowly expands into more complex forms and appears and re-appears evolved, deconstructed and re-assembled in various renderings throughout the film.”


  1. Cambridge, 1963
  2. Rowing
  3. Domestic Pressures
  4. Chalkboard
  5. Cavendish Lab
  6. Collapsing Inwards
  7. A Game of Croquet
  8. The Origins of Time
  9. Viva Voce
  10. The Wedding
  11. The Dreams that Stuff Is Made Of
  12. A Spacetime Singularity
  13. The Stairs
  14. A Normal Family
  15. Forces of Attraction
  16. Rowing – Alternative Version
  17. Camping
  18. Coma
  19. The Spelling Board
  20. The Voice Box
  21. A Brief History of Time
  22. Daisy, Daisy
  23. A Model of the Universe
  24. The Theory of Everything
  25. London, 1988
  26. Epilogue
  27. The Whirling Ways of Stars That Pass

Film Website

Jóhann Jóhannsson: Website // Twitter // Facebook