Laura Marling Streams ‘Short Movie’, Announces New LP

After the critical success of 2013’s Once I Was An Eagle, Laura Marling has returned with the title track from her upcoming fifth album Short Movie, due for release through Virgin Records on March 23rd 2015. Remarkably, this will be her fifth LP in seven years. This is an amazingly prolific return in a career which recalls the 60s and 70s when musicians released music as frequently as Lionel Messi scores goals.

Apparently, the record will see a move towards a bigger and more electric feel for Marling, with a freer and looser approach than any of her previous albums. It follows a period of extended reflection and a concious attempt to change routine. “I realised that I hadn’t been in place for longer than two or three weeks since I was 16” Marling explains “I thought I wonder what will happen if I try and root myself somewhere? Look back over the past eight years”.

The track-listing for Short Movie is:

1. Warrior
2. False Hope
3. I Feel Your Love
4. Walk Alone
5. Strange
6. Don’t Let Me Bring You Down
7. Easy
8. Gurdjieffs’s Daughter
9. Divine
10. How Can I
11. Howl
12. Short Movie
13. Worship Me