Martha Share ‘Goldman’s Detective Agency’, Announce New Album

martha goldman's detective agency

New Album Blisters In The Pit Of My Heart  due for release on Fortuna POP! (UK/EU) and Dirtnap (US) on 8 July.

Pity Me, Durham pop punk quartet Martha have returned with the first single to be gleaned from their upcoming second album, Blisters In The Pit Of My Heart. The track, dubbed ‘Goldman’s Detective Agency’, sees the band re-imagine 19th century anarchist Emma Goldman as a private eye vanquishing corrupt cops and politicians. It also features lo-fo Thin Lizzy esque dual guitars. Only for a moment though. As with their first album, this new record was recorded by MJ of Hookworms in his studio in Leeds.

Check out ‘Goldman’s Detective Agency’ above, and watch the video for ‘Chekhov’s Hangnail’, which will also feature on the album below.

Blisters In The Pit Of My Heart album artwork:

martha new album

Blisters In The Pit Of My Heart track-listing:

1. Christine
2. Chekhov’s Hangnail – featuring backing vocals from Ellis Jones of Trust Fund
3. Precarious (The Supermarket Song)
4. Do Whatever
5. Goldman’s Detective Agency
6. The Awkward Ones
7. Icecream And Sunscreen
8. Legless In Brandon
9. Curly & Raquel
10. Do Nothing
11. St. Paul’s (Westerberg Comprehensive)

Follow Martha on Facebook // Twitter

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter

Previous articleBad Breeding Share ‘Remembering’
Next articleMagic Potion Share ‘Cola Boyys’
Jamie Coughlan is the founder of Overblown. He talks a lot about himself and is totally pretentious. Terrible with personal finances. Loves beer gardens. He has written for the RTE Guide, A Music Blog, Yea?, The Thin Air, Gigwise, and is a contributor to The Tipping Point.