Neil Young Details New LP “Storytone”

Neil Young Details New LP

In predictably contrary fashion, Neil Young has announced the details of his follow up record to the decidedly low fidelity A Letter Home. Storytone, out on November 4th via Reprise, is in fact not one but two albums: There’s a solo acoustic version and the “standard” version that features a 92-piece orchestra and a choir. It may well turn out to be completely shit, but dammit I love Neil’s ramshackle abandon with common sense and sanity.

The regular CD comes with the standard version, while a deluxe edition includes both the standard and solo versions. The vinyl contains both solo and standard versions, and will be out December 16. The album will also be available via Pono, Young’s pioneering, crowd-sourced music player.

The album was produced by Young and Niko Bolas under their Volume Dealers moniker. The orchestra was arranged and conducted by Michael Bearden and Chris Walden.

Storytone tracklisting:

01 Plastic Flowers
02 Who’s Gonna Stand Up?
03 I Want To Drive My Car
04 Glimmer
05 Say Hello To Chicago
06 Tumbleweed
07 Like You Used To Do
08 I’m Glad I Found You
09 When I Watch You Sleeping
10 All Those Dreams

Check out both the acoustic and orchestral version of lead single “Who’s Gonna Stand Up?” below:

Orchestral Version:

Acoustic Version: