New Band of the Day #19: OhBoy


New ep, EP#2, is out now.

Who: OhBoy are a 5-piece band consisting of Jonathan Brook, Lee Irons, Mark Nicholas, Meg Amirghiasvand and Dan Battison.

What: Fuzzy, slacker rock. (FFO: Big Deal, Tigers Jaw)

Where: The Midlands, UK

Why: With their addictive blend of messy guitars and a could-care-less attitude, OhBoy have been steadily climbing in the music world’s consciousness since the release of EP#1 back in 2014, which introduced the band with noisy and reckless tracks that sound charmingly slap-dash. Now signed to independent record label Alcopop Records, OhBoy are working on their debut album, with latest single ‘Dirt’ featuring ear-worm guitar riffs and melancholic lyrics such as “I’m not awake / but I’m not quite dead” which are sure to awaken the inner emo-kid in anyone, especially with the addition of a sad-looking elephant in the accompanying music video.

The album they’re currently working on is as-of-yet unannounced, but if their previous releases are anything to go by it’ll be a celebration of noisy indie-pop and a resignation to ordinary life, so watch this space.

Check out our other ‘New Band of the Day’ features.

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive the latest alternative music news, features, and reviews.

BONUS - Receive free 21 track MP3 compilation when you confirm your subscription.

Follow OhBoy on Facebook.

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.