New Band of the Day #186: Tierpark


Debut album 바캉스 Vacance is out now.

Who: Sehee Kim – Vocals, Guitar, Jonathan Jacobson – Guitar, Nathan Greenberg – Bass, and Laurent Pereira – Drums.

What: Dreamgaze.

Where: Seoul, South Korea.

Why: Hailing from South Korea, this multinational dreamgaze outfit craft a distinctive and arresting sound. Combining a range of genres such as shoegaze, dreampop, math rock, and a pop sensibility, the group manage to craft music that is both immediately accessible and yet also a bit of a challenge. This is showcased on one of their greatest creations, the song ‘고유한 고요 (Intrinsic Calm)’. Led by the lilting and tender vocals of Sehee Kim, the song puts melody to the fore before descending into a more experimental bent towards the song’s climax.

Check out our other ‘New Band of the Day’ features.

Find Tierpark on Facebook.

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.