Noise Rock: METZ Share Video For New Track ‘A Boat to Drown In’

Photo credit: Norman Wong

METZ’s new album Atlas Vending is out on October 9th via Sub Pop Records.

Canadian noise rock trio METZ are back with a new single titled ‘A Boat to Drown In’. The track is the first track to be released from their upcoming fourth album Atlas Vending. That’s due out on October 9th via Sub Pop Records.

According to METZ guitarist and vocalist Alex Edkins the track is, “…about leaving a bad situation behind. About overcoming obstacles that once held you back, rising above, and looking to a better future. The title refers to immersing yourself fully into what you love and using it as a sanctuary from negativity and a catalyst for change.”

In regards to the video, director Tony Wolski says, “The song has a beautiful, crushing numbness to it that we wanted to mirror in the visual. So we chose to romanticise our main character’s descent into her delusions of love and togetherness. At a time when everyone’s simultaneously coping with some sort of isolation, a story about loneliness—and the mania that comes with it—seems appropriate to tell.”

Check out the video for ‘A Boat to Drown In’ below:

Atlas Vending track listing:

1. Pulse
2. Blind Youth Industrial Park
3. The Mirror
4. No Ceiling
5. Hail Taxi
6. Draw Us In
7. Sugar Pill
8. Framed by the Comet’s Tail
9. Parasite
10. A Boat to Drown In

Atlas Vending artwork:


Find METZ on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.