Post Punk: Iceage Share Video For New Single ‘Shelter Song’


Iceage’s new album Seek Shelter is due for release on May 7th via Mexican Summer.

Danish post-punk heavyweights Iceage have just revealed ‘Shelter Song’, the third single leading up to the release of their new album Seek Shelter. Serving as the opener to the band’s fifth full length entry, ‘Shelter Song’ is a steady-paced ballad cast in cosy arrangements and vivid colours. The track also features heavenly guest vocals from Lisboa’s Gospel Collective on the chorus.

The video was directed by Catherine Pattinama Coleman, who also worked with the band on the respective videos for the two previous singles. Much like the track’s themes of affection and friendship in times of need, the video offers a closer, more intimate look into the band’s personal life among friends and family in Copenhagen. Have a look below.

About the video, Coleman added the following: “Iceage asked me if I wanted to direct the video for ‘Shelter Song.’ As a childhood friend of theirs, it was important for me to showcase our friendship and the people we share everyday life with. So instead of making a video full of symbolism or a staged performance, I wanted to make a private and personal video close to our hearts. After a crazy year of COVID-19, the world in flames and structural racism peaking at such an extent, I wanted to create a meaningful piece, especially being a woman of color and fully in my third trimester. In the midst of a pandemic it’s important to remember that those of us who are privileged enough to have a roof over our heads, food, security, love and care, is something of great value. Love is not something one should not take for granted.”

Seek Shelter Album Artwork:


Seek Shelter Tracklist:

1. Shelter Song
2. High & Hurt
3. Love Kills Slowly
4. Vendetta
5. Drink Rain
6. Gold City
7. Dear Saint Cecilia
8. The Wider Powder Blue
9. The Holding Hand

Seek Shelter is available for pre-order here.

Follow Overblown on Facebook and Twitter.