Ezra Collective win the 2023 Mercury Prize

Ezra Collective win the 2023 Mercury Prize for their album Where I'm Meant To Be

The British quintet beat the likes of Arctic Monkeys, Fred Again and Jessie Ware to the prestigious prize.

Ezra Collective have won the 2023 Mercury Prize for their album Where I’m Meant To Be. The jazz band’s third full-length release – their first to be nominated for a Mercury – featured Sampa The Great and Emeli Sandé who added their own energy to a powerful record.

“Ezra Collective represents something very special because we met in a youth club,” the band said in their acceptance speech. “This moment that we’re celebrating right here is testimony to good, special people putting time and effort into young people to play music. This is not just the result for Ezra Collective, not just a result for UK jazz but this is a special moment for every single organisation across the country.” They went on to thank some of these organisations such as Tomorrow’s Warriors and the Brit School.

Recent winners of the prize include Little Simz and Arlo parks. Musicians who would now be considered legendary on the British music scene like Primal Scream and Pulp have also been crowned winners in the past.

A full list of the nominees are below:

  • Arctic Monkeys – The Car
  • Fred again… – Actual Life 3 (January 1 – September 9, 2022)
  • Jessie Ware – That! Feels Good!
  • J Hus – Beautiful And Brutal Yard
  • Jockstrap – I Love You Jennifer B
  • Lankum – False Lankum
  • Loyle Carner – hugo
  • Olivia Dean – Messy
  • RAYE – My 21st Century Blues
  • Shygirl – Nymph
  • Young Fathers – Heavy Heavy
Previous Story

Yunè Pinku covers The Cranberries’ ‘Dreams’

Next Story

Arlo Parks live in Manchester review: Parks is triumphant in a stellar Manchester headline show